Cloud storage prices compared
What one terabyte costs, from each provider's own pricing page, dated 22 October 2026. We make Beebeeb and have a commercial interest in this comparison. It is in the table, and it is not the cheapest.
No card or iDEAL needed to start.
Consumer plans, price per TB
| Plan | Storage | Per month | Per TB per month | Encryption | Apps open source | VAT | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Filen Pro III | 2 TiB | €8.99 monthly | €4.09 | End-to-end encrypted (provider claim) | Yes, AGPL-3.0 github.com/FilenCloudDienste | See source | Filen pricing |
| iCloud+ 2 TB | 2 TB | €9.99 monthly | €5.00 | Not end-to-end encrypted by default; Advanced Data Protection is optional | No public app source found | Included (stated on the page) | Apple Support, iCloud+ prices |
| Google One 2 TB (Google AI Plus) Includes Google AI features | 2 TB | €9.99 monthly | €5.00 | Not end-to-end encrypted by default | No public app source found | Not stated | Google One plans |
| Dropbox Plus | 2 TB | €11.99 monthly (EUR 9.99 a month if billed yearly) | €6.00 | Not end-to-end encrypted by default | No public app source found | Not stated | Dropbox plans |
| Microsoft OneDrive Microsoft 365 Personal Bundle: includes the desktop Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote apps and Copilot features | 1 TB | €10.00 monthly (EUR 8.25 a month if billed yearly) | €10.00 | Not end-to-end encrypted: Microsoft states that the service manages the keys and decrypts files before sending them to you (source) | No public app source found | Not stated | Microsoft OneDrive plans (Netherlands) |
| Beebeeb Pro | 1 TB | €10.99 monthly (EUR 9.16 a month if billed yearly) | €10.99 | End-to-end encrypted (our claim; the apps are open source) | Yes, AGPL-3.0 github.com/beebeeb-io | Included for EU customers | Our pricing page |
| Tresorit Personal Essential | 1 TB | €11.99 monthly (EUR 9.99 a month if billed yearly) | €11.99 | End-to-end encrypted (provider claim) | No public app source found | Not stated | Tresorit personal pricing |
| Beebeeb Starter | 100 GB | €1.99 monthly (EUR 1.66 a month if billed yearly) | €19.90 | End-to-end encrypted (our claim; the apps are open source) | Yes, AGPL-3.0 github.com/beebeeb-io | Included for EU customers | Our pricing page |
| Beebeeb Basic | 200 GB | €3.99 monthly (EUR 3.33 a month if billed yearly) | €19.95 | End-to-end encrypted (our claim; the apps are open source) | Yes, AGPL-3.0 github.com/beebeeb-io | Included for EU customers | Our pricing page |
| Microsoft OneDrive Microsoft 365 Basic Includes 100 GB of mailbox storage and ad-free email | 100 GB | €2.00 monthly (EUR 1.67 a month if billed yearly) | €20.00 | Not end-to-end encrypted: Microsoft states that the service manages the keys and decrypts files before sending them to you (source) | No public app source found | Not stated | Microsoft OneDrive plans (Netherlands) |
| Proton Drive Plus | 200 GB | €4.99 monthly (EUR 3.99 a month if billed yearly) | €24.95 | End-to-end encrypted (provider claim) | Yes, GPL-3.0 github.com/ProtonDriveApps | Not stated | Proton Drive pricing |
Per TB per month is the plan's monthly price divided by its storage in terabytes (GiB and TiB converted exactly; Beebeeb's TB are decimal, 1 TB = 1,000,000,000,000 bytes). It scales small plans up to one terabyte: nobody can buy 1 TB on a 100 GB or 200 GB plan. It also divides the whole price by the storage, so bundled extras (AI features, a VPN) are not valued and those rows overstate the cost of storage alone. Prices are in euros as the EU pages showed them on 22 October 2026. The table uses the monthly rate, and the yearly rate is shown where we verified it. VAT is included for Apple (its page says so) and for Beebeeb; the other pages do not say, so rows within about 20% of each other can change order once VAT is applied. The open source column comes from each provider's public GitHub organisation, checked on 22 October 2026; it covers the apps only (Beebeeb's server is private) and "no public app source found" means we did not find one, not that none exists.
What the numbers say
- At 2 TB, iCloud+ and Google One come to €5.00 per TB and Dropbox Plus to €6.00 on monthly billing (€9.99 a month if you pay yearly). By their own documentation none of the three is end-to-end encrypted by default.
- Filen's 2 TiB plan has the lowest price per TB in this table, at about €4.09, and it is end-to-end encrypted according to its own documentation. See how we compare with Filen.
- Beebeeb Pro is €10.99 per TB, and extra terabytes are €10.99 each up to 99 TB. Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial; no card or iDEAL is needed to start it; the trial has less storage, to prevent misuse. Beebeeb has no free plan. See our pricing.
Object storage, for developers and backups
| Service | Region | Per TB per month, in euro | As the provider prices it | Egress to the internet | Minimums | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage | Published rates (U.S. West) | €6.19 | $6.95 | Free up to 3x the data you store, then USD 0.01 per GB | No minimum storage duration or file size fees | Backblaze pricing |
| Hetzner Object Storage | Germany and Finland | €6.49 | €6.49 | 1 TB a month included; see the source for the rate on more traffic | EUR 6.49 a month base, billed for any hour a bucket exists, even empty. Extra storage is billed per TB-hour (EUR 0.0087 on their page). Prices exclude VAT. 64 KB minimum object size. | Hetzner Object Storage pricing |
| Wasabi Pay as You Go | Single global price | €7.11 | $7.99 | No egress or API fees | 90-day minimum storage duration; minimum monthly charge tied to 1 TB | Wasabi pricing |
| Cloudflare R2 Standard | Not region-priced | €13.35 | $15.00 | Free | None for Standard; 10 GB-month free each month | Cloudflare R2 pricing |
| Microsoft Azure Blob Storage, hot tier, LRS | West Europe | €17.45 | $19.60 | First 100 GB a month free, then USD 0.08 per GB (internet routing) | None stated for the hot tier | Azure price data (retail prices API) |
| Amazon Web Services S3 Standard | EU (Frankfurt) | €21.81 | $24.50 | USD 0.090 per GB for the first 10 TB a month, after the free allowance | No minimum charge | AWS S3 pricing |
The euro figure is the provider's own euro price, or its dollar price converted at the European Central Bank reference rate of 21 October 2026 (1 euro = 1.1234 US dollars); the next column shows what the provider itself states. Rows are ordered by the euro figure. These are list prices before tax. Where a provider prices per GB, per TB is that price times 1,000, and tiered rates apply above the first tier. Regions differ (Backblaze quotes its U.S. West rates; the others are priced for European regions), so the cheapest row is not necessarily available in the EU at that price. Wasabi bills at least 1 TB a month, so it is not cheaper for small amounts. This is raw storage: object storage is not end-to-end encrypted unless you encrypt before you upload, and it has none of the apps, sharing or sync that the table above includes.
Not in these tables
Microsoft 365 Family and Premium are missing because one plan is shared by up to six people, so a price per terabyte would not compare fairly. pCloud, Internxt, Sync.com and MEGA are missing because we did not confirm their prices a second time, and Sync.com does not name its currency. Google Cloud Storage is missing because its price page needs JavaScript and we could not confirm the figure ourselves. We would rather leave a row out than publish a number we did not check.
Questions
- Which plan in this table is cheapest per TB?
- Filen's 2 TiB plan, at about €4.09 per TB per month. Next come iCloud+ (€5.00) and Google One (€5.00) at 2 TB, then Dropbox Plus (€6.00 on monthly billing). Several cheap providers are not in this table (see "Not in these tables"), prices change, and VAT is not treated the same way everywhere. Checked 22 October 2026.
- Does cheaper storage encrypt your files end to end?
- Not by default. By their own documentation, iCloud, Google One and Dropbox do not end-to-end encrypt your files by default, so the provider can decrypt them (Apple offers Advanced Data Protection as an option). Filen, Proton Drive and Tresorit say they encrypt on your device with keys they do not hold. That is their own claim, so check each project's documentation.
- How much does Beebeeb cost per TB?
- Beebeeb Pro is €10.99 a month for 1 TB, and each extra terabyte is €10.99 a month up to 99 TB. That is not the cheapest per TB in this comparison. Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial; no card or iDEAL is needed to start it; the trial has less storage, to prevent misuse.